I’m back

June 19, 2013 § 7 Comments

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A year and 11 days after I left Japan, I’m back in this crazy country. Didn’t expect that.

For those who don’t know what this is: this used to be the blog I kept while travelling overland from Singapore to Beijing and onwards to Japan last year. Sorry, you probably can’t read 95% of it since I wrote most of it in Dutch.

And for those who don’t know what I’m doing now: I somehow ended up getting accepted at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London to study Japanese and Study of Religions, which I started in September 2012. After a very hectic year, I got a language course+internship at a Japanese language school in Sapporo, Hokkaido (you know, the city that once hosted the Olympics, has a Snow Festival but more importantly is home to one of Japan’s most famous beers), and that’s where I am now. I spent three days in Tokyo beforehand, a small update of that will probably be incorporated into a mega one when I actually sit down and write. For now, the short version is that I rented a bicycle once again, got lost once again, visited the Tokyo Skytree, ended up in one of the worst bars of the world, had a good night in Shibuya and now live in Sapporo with about 10 Japanese, one Korean and one Chinese. Other than that, photos will have to suffice.

TOKYO 東京

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SAPPORO 札幌

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

新しい家族

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to I’m back

  • Fabrice says:

    Heyo wow you actually remember the exact time away from japan!
    nice too hear you managed to get back sooner rather than later.

    I tried my hand in learning japanese in Uni in australia but didnt like it because I wasnt surrounded by Japanese after uni which was hard plus with my busy schedule of work etc.

    I hope one day to actually learn it in Japan itself (wishful thinking)

  • Koen Bouwers says:

    Moppie

    Die foto’s zien er goed uit

    Ook dat feestje op de laatste foto.

    Is dat je huis feestje? Gezellig

    Je vader Koen XXXX

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  • Good pictures. I have lived in Asakusa six years ago. Welcome to this crazy island.

  • carry says:

    Dear Kirsty,

    I’ll try to reply in English (cause once upon a time I’ve learned it at school), see how much I still know.

    I can FEEL you being back in Japan, telling us about the exact days you’ve been away . I remember you from last year: back in the Netherlands after 7 months, back from Asia: ‘LOST IN EUROPE’!

    I think it must be strange that your parents also visit Asia this weeks… closer, but still such a big distance. It gives me an good example of the expance of Asia, in which you travelled last year.

    I’m so happy that you have the opportunity to go back to Japan so quickly, to get a real gripp on (a big bite of) the language. It will definitely help you to start strongly next year at school. But for now it will bring you back in your heart-land, as I would like to call it.

    After studying and maybe not having a job soon, you can always show someone your photography-scills, cause “baby, you’ve got it!”
    What a good atmosphere you create on only a few pictures en so fresh styled and clear. I know you don’t like the word ‘styled’, but you’ve got a designerslook (probably your mothers genes), a fine way of making an interesting and balanced photo. Compliments of a fellow-designer.

    Have a very, very nice time in Japan. Don’t count the days, live them.
    I know you will, because Asia is the place to be.. for Kirsty.
    Japan…eat it, drink it, see and hear it, learn and feel it..
    I would almost say ‘hug it’.

    Greetings and of course a hug from you aunt Carry.

  • Michael says:

    ちょっと羨ましいな

    私も来年行くつもり休暇として

    日本語がまだまだなんだけどorz

    このブログを読むからいっぱい書いてね~

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m back at Lost in Asia.

meta

